August 7, 2015
If you are involved in an accident in Florida and you don’t remain at the scene to examine injuries to person or property, you have committed a “hit-and-run.” Continue reading to learn more about hit-and-run accidents and what to do.
What are the Consequences of a Hit-and-Run?
Your penalties for the crime will depend upon the damage that was caused:
– Property damage is a second-degree misdemeanor with a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail.
– Injury to another person is a third-degree felony, which may mean 5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine.
– Causing the death of another person is a first-degree felony, punishable by up to thirty years in prison and could result in a minimum mandatory 2 years in prison if alcohol is involved.
How to Avoid a Hit-and-Run
To avoid a hit-and-run charge in a property damage only case, Florida law requires the driver to:
– Give name, address, and registration number to the other person or persons involved and to the police if they are on the scene.
– For property damaged but unattended in a crash, the driver could find the owner or attach their information to the unattended property.
What Happens After a Hit-and-Run Charge?
If you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident in Florida, the state must show that:
– You were the driver in the accident that caused death, injury, or property damage.
– You knew or you should have known that injury, death, or property damage resulted from the accident.
– You did not stop at the accident scene and did not stay at the scene until the proper people or authorities were notified.
Contact Khonsari Law Group for the Best Defense Against Hit-and-Runs
If you’re charged with a hit-and-run, call an experienced Florida law firm. The Khonsari Law Group can help. We know the laws, we know the defense, and we can help. Contact us today.