KLG Header Image

What are the Penalties for a DUI in Florida?

What are the Penalties for a DUI in Florida

A DUI is classified as an offense in which an individual over the age of 21 drives impaired with a blood or breath alcohol level of 0.08 or more. Even if you only had one mixed drink, you’re dramatically raising your chance of being in a vehicle crash. With New Year’s Eve quickly approaching, it’s important to stay safe while on the roads and know your rights.

If you are pulled over while driving under the influence and an officer asks you to take a sobriety test, you are required to comply with the officer’s demands.

If you refuse, you potentially face a driver’s license suspension for a year. A second refusal results in a potential 18-month suspension.

What are the drunk driving penalties in Florida?

1st Offense: six to nine months of jail time, and the possibility of $2,000 in fines. Your license will be suspended for 180 days or up to a year.

2nd Offense: nine months to a year of jail time for a second offense, and could pay up to $4,000 in fines. Your license may also be suspended for up to five years but may be reduced to one.

3rd Offense: up to one year in jail. You could pay up to $5,000 in fines and your license will also be suspended for up to 10 years depending on the date of the prior offenses.

Contact an Experienced St. Petersburg DUI Defense Attorney Today

If you have been arrested, the DUI defense lawyers at Khonsari Law Group can help. Please call us at 727-269-5300 today.

(Article Source: https://klgflorida.com/explaining-florida-dui-laws/)

Share This Post

Schedule a Free Initial Consultation Today

    Related Posts