November 30, 2015
Driving in Florida may seem no different than driving in other states. However, if you do not stay up-to-date with the law, you might be unaware of certain regulations and how they affect you. Here are five laws that Florida drivers may not know.
Collision with an Unattended Vehicle or Damaging an Object with Your Car
If you damage an object or unattended vehicle with your car, you must give your address, name and license plate number to the owner of that object or car in a note you attach to the object or vehicle. Alternatively, you can provide the information in person. Always report damage to the appropriate local law enforcement agency.
Using a turn signal is required for lane changing, passing another vehicle or turning. In Florida, the penalty for not using a turn signal when required is a non-criminal moving violation.
Driving Too Slowly
Anyone driving slow enough to block or impede traffic can be ticketed. When you need to go slower, try to stay to the right. Note that it is against the law to drive less than 50 mph in a 70 mph zone.
Your Insurance Company Must Give Notice of Insurance
When you get auto insurance in Florida, your insurance company is required to send notice of your coverage to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). Occasionally, this is not done properly or on time, which can result in an automatic license suspension. If the person being suspended is not aware of the suspension, this can create additional difficulties and liabilities.
Failure to Pay a Traffic Ticket
If you do not take care of a traffic ticket, you may very well get a notice from the DHSMV within 90 days that you are at risk of having your license suspended. Complicating matters can include cases where your license is already suspended without your knowledge. The DHSMV sends out notices of license suspension via bulk or third-class mail, so if this is lost or not forwarded properly, you may not be aware of such a suspension. Citations for driving with a suspended license add up and can result in loss of your license for five years if there are three or more such citations within a five year period.
Call Khonsari Law Group for Legal Counsel
When it comes to more serious violations, like a DUI or reckless driving, you should always consult with an attorney. In addition to the suspension or revocation of your license, such convictions can also lead to thousands of dollars in fines and jail time. If you are facing charges, call Khonsari Law Group at (727) 269-5300 for a free consultation on your rights and options. You can also visit us online and request a consultation using our online contact form.