April 16, 2015
In early January, a video of a Florida DUI checkpoint in Levy County went viral. In the video, a driver approaches a DUI checkpoint and displays a flyer, which reads: “I remain silent, no searches, I want my lawyer.”
Also displayed in the video is a plastic bag containing the driver’s license, registration and insurance information. Upon reading the flyer and checking the driver’s information, the police wave him through the DUI checkpoint. Since the video has been making its rounds through the Internet, many people have been wondering about the validity of the video and whether or not it is proof that drivers can legally make their way through a DUI checkpoint, without opening their windows, just as long as they display the required identification.
While the driver may have gotten through the DUI checkpoint, DUI tactics can land you in jail if you are not careful.
Do DUI Checkpoint Tactics Really Work?
Despite the video garnering more than 2 million views, you should be wary of trying the same thing—or any other sly tactic for that matter—if you find yourself at a DUI checkpoint. Ultimately, this type of situation remains in a gray area between legal and illegal. While pulling this stunt is not technically illegal, you will more than likely draw attention to yourself. It is also important to note that just because you display a flyer and your information does not mean you are not driving drunk. In any situation, driving over the legal limit of 0.08 percent is illegal and poses a threat to yourself and everyone around you.
Consequences of a DUI Charge in Florida
If convicted, driving under the influence in the state of Florida holds serious consequences. Depending on the specific circumstances and past convictions, these are the potential penalties and fines that come along with a DUI conviction.
First Offense – First-time offenders may face six to nine months in jail, 180 days to one-year license suspension, and up to $2000 in fines and penalties.
Second Offense – Second-time offenders face more serious charges including up to one year in jail, up to five years license suspension and up to $4000 in fines and penalties.
Third Offense – A DUI conviction for a third-time offender can include one year in jail, up to 10 years license suspension and up to $5000 in fines and penalties.
Hire an Experienced Attorney
Driving under the influence is never acceptable, but if you or a loved one is being faced with a DUI charge, it is important to have an experienced DUI attorney on your side. A DUI conviction carries harsh consequences, so seek legal guidance immediately. The legal team at the Khonsari Law Group can help guide you through this trying time and build a strong defense case. For more information, visit KLG Attorneys today, or schedule a free consultation.