May 17, 2017
Imagine this scenario. You are alone on a quiet road out in the country, and it is late at night. Suddenly, a deer crosses the road. You swerve into the oncoming traffic lane to avoid it, but a car is coming the other way right at that moment, and you crash. Your car does not look too bad. You are not sure about the other car, but you are feeling panicked—your car insurance recently lapsed, and you cannot afford to pay for car repairs, much less hospital bills. The other car cabin looks only slightly damaged, so you figure the person inside is probably fine. Plus, he or she probably has insurance, and who would ever know it was you? So, you decide to leave the scene of the accident. What kind of consequences could you face under Florida law?
Florida Law Hit and Run Consequences
Florida law requires the driver of a vehicle that is involved in an accident to stop at the scene of the accident.
If a crash resulted in injury to a person, you could be charged with a felony of the third degree, which can be punishable by five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
If the crash resulted in serious bodily injury to the people in the other car and you leave the scene of the accident, you could be charged with a felony of the second degree, which could mean 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
If the crash resulted in the other person’s death and you leave the scene of the crash, you could be charged with a felony of the first degree, which has a minimum prison sentence of four years but could put you in prison for up to 30 years.
Additionally, under any of these circumstances, you could have your driver’s license revoked for three years.
The consequences of a hit and run car accident are quite serious and can affect your life for many years. If you have been involved in a hit and run accident, you should call a qualified Florida criminal law attorney as soon as you can.
Call a St. Petersburg Criminal Defense Lawyer Today for a Free Consultation
The Khonsari Law Group has the attorneys you need to protect your rights throughout the criminal justice process and obtain the best possible result for you. To schedule a free consultation with a St. Petersburg criminal defense attorney, contact us online or call (727) 269-5300.