December 24, 2014
Because of the dangerous nature of DUI cases, Florida has severe penalties for those who are caught drinking and driving. Serious fines, loss of driving privileges and even jail time are all possible outcomes for those who drive while under the influence. Here are just some of the possible outcomes of a DUI case.
When you are arrested for a DUI, you will be facing some serious fines. How much you have to pay will depend on any previous DUI charges, your blood alcohol content (BAC) after being caught, and if there were minors in the vehicle with you. In Florida, you will face the following fines for a DUI:
- First Conviction: $500 to $1,000
- First Conviction with BAC of .15 or higher, or a minor in the car: $1,000 to $2,000
- Second Conviction: $1,000 to $2,000
- Second Conviction with BAC of .15 or higher, or a minor in the car: $2,000 to $4,000
- Third Conviction: $2,000 to $5,000
- Third Conviction with BAC of .15 or higher, or a minor in the car: $4,000 minimum
- Fourth Conviction: $2,000 minimum
Probation and Imprisonment
Money is not the only thing you may lose for a DUI charge, your freedom is at risk as well. Many people charged with a DUI face probation or jail time due to their crime.
- First Conviction: Probation up to one year and jail time up to six months
- First Conviction with BAC of .15 or higher: Jail time up to nine months.
- Second Conviction: Jail time up to nine months
- Second Conviction with BAC of .15 or higher, or a minor in the car: Jail time up to 12 months
- Second Conviction in five Years: Mandatory jail sentence of at least 10 days
- Third Conviction: Jail time up to 12 months
- Third Conviction in 10 years: Mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days
- Fourth Conviction: Jail time up to five years
If convicted of a DUI, you may lose your driving privileges. Depending on how many DUI’s you have been charged with, you have to go some time before you are legally allowed to drive again:
- First Conviction: Driver’s license revoked for one year
- Second Conviction in five years: Driver’s license revoked five years, vehicle impoundment for 30 days
- Third Conviction in 10 years: Driver’s license revoked for 10 years
- Fourth Conviction: Driver’s license permanently revoked
- DUI Felony: If you have been charged with three DUIs in 10 years, or have been charged with four DUIs, it is considered a felony. You could be facing significant jail time, and since DUIs carry a mandatory conviction by Florida law, you could become a convicted felon.
- Ignition Interlock Device: In some cases, you may be able to keep your license, but must also have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in your vehicle. The IID requires the driver to give a breath sample before the car will start. The driver’s BAC must be below .05, or the car will not start.
- Community Service: After a first DUI conviction, there will be a mandatory 50 hours of community service.
Do Not Lose Your Freedom
If you have been charged with a DUI, call the Khonsari Law Group at once. It is vital that you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. At KLG, we will fight vigorously to defend your case and your freedom. Contact us today for a free consultation.