November 7, 2015
A moving vehicle may cause severe injuries or death when it impacts with a pedestrian or parked vehicle. Move over laws were originally enacted to enhance emergency scene safety and to protect police officers or other emergency responders who are working on the side of roadways. Many states, including Florida, have move-over laws and a variety of roadside workers are protected by the Florida Move Over Law.
Move Over and Slow Down
In Florida, if you see a police car, fire truck, ambulance, tow truck, utility, sanitation or maintenance vehicle on the side of the road with its lights flashing, you are required to slow down to 20 miles an hour and move over. Many drivers simply do not know this or they ignore the law. You are even required to move over or slow down for disabled vehicles that are parked on the side of the road. Here are the specifics:
- For a two lane road, you have to slow down to 20 miles per hour.
- If the speed limit is 20 miles per hour, you have to slow down to 5 miles per hour.
- On the interstate, change lanes when it is safe. If you cannot do this, slow down by a minimum of 20 miles per hour.
- If a law enforcement officer directs you to do something, do it.
Enforcement and Penalties
Not complying with a move over law is a primary offense, which means police are able to stop a driver for this offense alone. Fines can range from $150 to $500 depending on the infraction, and your license will be assessed three points. Your car insurance premiums might go up as well.
How the Khonsari Law Group Can Help
If you or a loved one has been the victim of a motorist’s failure to move over, contact the Khonsari Law Group immediately. We are experienced and dedicated advocates for the victims of the carelessness of others. For a for a free consultation and case evaluation, you can call us at (727) 269-5300, or just use our online contact form. You will have a committed professional on your side of the case with a proven reputation for success.