August 21, 2015
According to the Florida Highway Patrol, nearly 76 percent of all Florida residents who are of legal driving age are licensed drivers. If you are like the majority of Florida residents, you probably depend on your license for multiple things, such as getting to work, going to school and running errands. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, it is reasonable to wonder if you will lose your license.
Whether or not you will lose your license ultimately depends on the specifics of your case. learn the potential outcomes you can expect, here:
Will I Lose My License Immediately After a DUI Arrest?
Your driver’s license will not be suspended automatically following a DUI arrest. You will however, receive a temporary license. While the circumstances following a DUI arrest will differ on a case-by-case basis, in Florida, you will need to request a DMV hearing within 10 days of being arrested or waive the DMV hearing and obtain a permit (if a first time DUI). Once the hearing for you has been requested, you will often be able to obtain a permit, which means you can drive for business purposes only (to and from work, school, etc.). From here, the DMV will send you a determination notice.
It is important to note that if you are arrested for driving under the influence, you will potentially face two suspensions: one from the DMV (administrative), and one if you are convicted in court.
What Are the Consequences of a DUI?
No two cases are exactly the same. Because of this, it is difficult to determine whether or not you will lose your license for a DUI until you have had a trial. While the consequences of a DUI ultimately depend on the specific case, here are the common outcomes:
First Time Offenders: For first time offenders, the individual may face six to nine months in jail, $500 to $2000 in fines, as well as a license suspension lasting 180 days to one year.
Second Time Offenders: A second DUI offense may result in nine months to one year in jail, $1000 to $4000 in fines, and a license suspension lasting up to five years.
Third Time Offenders: A third DUI offense may result in up to one year in jail, $2000 to $5000 in fines and a license suspension of up to 10 years.
Get the Legal Guidance You Need With Khonsari Law Group
If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence, it is important to have an experienced attorney on your side. The legal team at the Khonsari Law Group has the necessary experience to defend your rights and will garner the best possible outcome for your case. Call our office at (727) 269-5300 for more information or schedule your free consultation today.