November 29, 2017
In Florida, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more. Breathalyzer test results are the most important piece of evidence for a Florida prosecutor to have during a criminal trial.
In Florida, if you are arrested by an officer who has probable cause to believe that you were operating your vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, then you have given implied consent to take a chemical blood test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). Once you have been arrested for a suspected DUI, the officer should inform you that your refusal to take a breathalyzer test will result in an automatic driver’s license suspension. Your refusal to take the test may also be used against you in court. If you take the test and your BAC exceeds the legal limit, you will be arrested. A possible penalty upon sustaining a DUI conviction—or a probation—is the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on your motor vehicle.
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI in Florida, you need experienced legal representation in your corner every step of the way. The DUI criminal defense lawyers at Khonsari Law Group can review the facts and circumstances of your case and make sure that you understand all of your legal rights.
Potential Penalties Upon Conviction
If you are ultimately convicted of a DUI—or placed on probation—then the possible penalties may include the following:
- High fines
- Jail time
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
Ignition Interlock Devices
A condition of your probation or conviction in a Florida DUI case may require you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for a certain period of time. An ignition interlock device allows you to operate your motor vehicle only after you first blow into the device. If the device detects an unacceptable amount of alcohol on your breath, the vehicle will not start. Aside from the embarrassment and inconvenience associated with the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, the installation itself can be costly from a monetary perspective. Specifically, there is a $12 interlock fee, a $70 installation fee for the device, a $67.50 monthly monitoring and calibration fee, and a $100 refundable deposit (or a $5 monthly insurance charge). Monthly appointments are available at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) by appointment, and they typically take from 45 minutes to one hour.
Contact a St. Petersburg DUI Defense Attorney Today to Discuss Your Case
If you have been charged with a DUI in Florida, you need experienced legal representation on your side to safeguard all of your legal and constitutional rights. To schedule a free consultation and case evaluation with a St. Petersburg, Florida DUI defense lawyer, please call us today at (727) 269-5300 or contact us online for a free initial consultation.