September 1, 2017
In the State of Florida, the legal drinking age is 21. Possession of alcohol by anyone under the age of 21 is illegal, without exception. All-in-all, the standards are stricter and the penalties are harsher for DUI offenders under the age of 21. If you or someone you love has been charged with an underage DUI, it is essential that you have experienced legal representation throughout your case by a St. Petersburg criminal defense attorney.
Standards for a Florida Underage DUI Charge
In order to be charged with a Florida underage DUI, a chemical test (usually in the form of a breathalyzer test) must demonstrate that a driver under the age of 21 has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .02% or higher. For individuals 21 years of age and older, the required BAC is .08% or higher.
In addition to being charged with a DUI, an underage offender may also be charged with some or all of the following, depending upon the circumstances:
- Distributing alcohol to other minors
- Soliciting alcohol
- Moving violations (when driving)
- Possession of a fake ID
- Minor in possession of alcohol
Some insurance companies also reserve the right to terminate an insurance policy after being charged with or convicted of an underage DUI. Most insurance companies simply raise the monthly premium for a period of 3 to 5 years.
Penalties in Underage DUI Cases
The possible penalties in underage DUI cases can be very high. In the case of a first DUI offense with a BAC of .08% or higher, the driver may be subject to jail time (as determined by a judge), a $1,000 – $2,000 fine, and/or a six-month driver’s license suspension. These penalties increase substantially for a second or subsequent DUI offense.
Contact an Experienced St. Petersburg Criminal Defense Attorney Today to Discuss Your Case
Underage DUI offenses can have significant long-term legal ramifications. If you or someone you care about has been charged with or convicted of an underage DUI, you need experienced legal representation by a St. Petersburg criminal defense attorney. To schedule a free consultation with one of our lawyers, call the Khonsari Law Group today at 727-269-5300 or contact us online.